WK 3 – Artist Conversation – Mimi Haddon

Artist: Mimi Haddon

Exhibition: Touch Color 2

Media: Fiber

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: http://www.mimihaddon.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mimihaddon/

 

About the Artist

Mimi Haddon has already graduated from CSULB in 1994, but is currently attending CSULB as a student going for a M.F.A in the School of Art’s Fiber Arts. She has a BA in Visual Communication Design. The artwork that was exhibited in the art gallery was created with the help of plain T-shirts. I noticed that she mainly uses warm colors in her artwork, which I believe is a good way in showing off your artwork because warm colors attract attention from people.

Formal Analysis

When I first walked into the Gallery, I noticed many different warm colors illuminating the room. When you first take a glance at Mimi’s artwork, you have to think about what she is trying to do with all the unique colors and materials. I took a picture with this wall which what seems to be colorful T-shirts shaped into balloons. Interest sparked immediately and I had trouble wondering what this magnificent masterpiece was. I overheard that she intended to make this artwork similar to the arcade game where you throw darts at the balloons. Now I see it because the T-shirts are lined up like the game. She pulled it off very nicely, but what I found intriguing was how it is hard to initially see what she is trying to do. I like how she used a mixture of warm colors, which is a nice way to grab the viewer’s attention.

Content Analysis

I noticed that Mimi’s exhibition mainly focused on T-shirts and warm colors. She chose T-shirts because they technically came from the Earth because they are cotton-based. She discovered that there are many T-shirts being get rid of and she was able to collect T-shirts to use as materials with the help of donations. I believe her artwork is a unique style because of how she uses T-shirts and tries to make them into a different form of art.

Synthesis / My Experience

At first, I was scared in a way because I have never been to this part of school in my first few months at CSULB. Then I slowly got comfortable after I started seeing the artwork and all my classmates looking at them. I noticed that each piece of artwork has a story behind it and I like how we have artist conversations because we get to talk to the artist to learn more about them and their artwork. For this weeks artist conversation, Mimi was the only artist here because the others were apparently busy. That’s okay because she made a circle and started telling the people in the circle more about her. I’m glad I attended Art 110 because I would have never experienced this in another class.

Leave a Reply

