WK 1 – Plaster Casting Activity

I first started this project by gathering the materials located at a nearby store called “Art Supply Warehouse” located on 6672 Westminster Ave, Westminster, CA 92683. I bought the required materials which were the bucket and the plaster casting box. The total came out to be $10.06 and I immediately drove to the beach to make my plaster! I drove to Huntington Beach and started when I got there.

I first dug a hole big enough for my hand to fit in there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Afterwards, I put my hand in, put wet sand over my hand, and then proceeded to pat it down so I can easily slide my hand out. This created the template for my plaster.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then started to create my mix of plaster and water. I mixed the contents until it was a smooth consistency and I poured the contents into the hole very slowly making sure that I don’t ruin my template.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I continued to wait about 20 minutes until the plaster dried up. Next, I began to dig around my masterpiece and slowly took it out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was the final result of my masterpiece. Thank you for your time in viewing my plaster casting activity!

Leave a Reply

