Wk 7 – Artist Conversation – Juliana Bustillo and Tidawhitney Lek

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Artist: Juliana Bustillo and Tidawhitney Lek
Exhibition: Doodles in Space
Media: Toilet seat covers,
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: MaccabeeShelley.com

About the Artists

Juliana Bustillo is currently attending CSULB and is attempting to get a Bachelors in Fine Arts. She is graduating spring of 2017, which is a coincidence because my classmate, Chris Ngo, that I had a conversation with is also graduating spring of 2017. She is currently majoring in painting and drawing. Tidawhitney is also attending CSULB and is attempting to get a Bachelors in Fine Arts as well. As a coincidence, these two artists have the same major and are going for the same Bachelors. Together, these two artists collaborated and made a fine exhibit to view.

Formal Analysis 

Upon entering this exhibit, I was flabbergasted. My first initial thought was, ” Are these toilet seat covers?”. I like how the artist used toilet seat covers to create her artwork. I would have never thought to use that to execute this gallery so well. I also like how the main colors are black and white and it is all over the place, but it is done well. This shows that this whole thing was not made in under 5 minutes, but it shows that it took a lot of time and effort in order to do so.

Content Analysis

The exhibition is called Doodles in Space and  I can sort of see why this exhibit is named after that. The artists used toilet seat covers to execute this fine piece of art, displaying the whole room like the title, Doodles in Space. They only used two colors, which were black and white. I assume it is to make their art more simple and easy to look at. Using these two colors give off a dark vibe, but that is good because they are trying to show the viewer that they are in space.

Synthesis/ My Experience

When I first came to class, I viewed each gallery, but the one that attracted me the most was this exhibit. For some reason, it was so unique that I just had to take pictures of it so I can show people on my blog. It felt like I was in outer space with toilet seat covers as substitute for meteorites. I really liked the shapes, patterns, and such that they used to help make this exhibit look astonishing. Overall, I really liked this exhibit.

Leave a Reply

