WK 15 – Design Thinking Applied to Life

For this week’s activity, we have to think of 3 possible futures for ourselves. Three possible futures that I have in mind are :

  1. Going to CSULB and majoring in financing or accounting.
  2. Going to GWC and get into the Honda program.
  3. Work at a bank as an internship and just work two jobs and quit school.

For the first possible future for myself, I picked this because it seems like I am most likely to go towards this route. I am currently going to CSULB and because I am undeclared, I can go to any major I feel like going in to, but because I am good at math, I decided that I should go into financing or accounting. My plans for this future is to follow the CSULB road map for either major and take the required classes to get in to that major. Afterwards, complete all of the required classes and hopefully graduate in 4 years, then I will start my journey on finding a job that I can start supporting my family and myself and start a family future. I was thinking of graduating at around 22 or 23 and start working as much as I can to save up, then I hope by the time I am in my early 30s I will start a family and just continue working and supporting my family.

For the next future possibility, I wanted to graduate from high school and go straight in to GWC because of how affordable it is to go here. I originally wanted to go this route because I am in love with cars and how they work, but my parents wanted me to at least go to a cal state. But, if I were to go this route, then I would have gone in to the Honda program. This program is where you go to school for 9 weeks, then you work at Honda for 9 weeks, and just continue repeating until you finish the program. Afterwards, you get offered a full-time job at Honda, which is what I would have liked to do.

For this final future possibility, I was thinking that I should quit school and just start working as much as I can to start saving up money and build my credit by getting a credit card. I feel like this route is the most riskiest route because it is hard to find a decent paying job without a degree, so the most I would get is a little more than minimum wage. I picked this as a possibility because things happen and sometimes families need to be supported, but this will only happen if something were to happen in my family.

Evaluate

  1. Going to CSULB and majoring in financing or accounting.
  1. Confidence: 8/10
  2. Resources:8/10
  3. Impact:9/10
  4. Satisfaction:8/10
  1. Going to GWC and get into the Honda program.
  2. Confidence: 5/10
  3. Resources:5/10
  4. Impact:5/10
  5. Satisfaction:9/10
  1. Work at a bank as an internship and just work two jobs and quit school.
  2. Confidence: 2/10
  3. Resources:4/10
  4. Impact:7/10
  5. Satisfaction:1/10

Rapid Prototyping

For this rapid prototype, I am going to practice my skills as much as I can so I can benefit in the future. I am already taking the required classes to get into accounting, so I am already set on that. But if I ever decide to get into cars and work at an auto shop, then I am already working on my own car here and there as I grow up. I know basic things such as changing oil, working on suspension, etc.. I hope that my future will be a bright one and I am glad to have been able to take this class. This class was very fun and memorable.

Leave a Reply

